Reasons for Taking Driver Improvement

Reasons for Taking Online Driver Improvement

DMV Assigned (Safe Driving Points Awarded If Eligible)

This option should be selected if you have been ordered by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to complete an 8-hour driver improvement course. Usually the DMV will assign a driver improvement course to a driver when they have received 12 demerit points (negative points) on their driver license within a 12-month period, or 18 points within a 24-month period. You may also need to select DMV Assigned if your license has been suspended by the DMV for accumulating too many points. If you select DMV Assigned and are eligible to earn safe driving points they will automatically be applied to your driving record upon completion.

Court Ordered (No Safe Driving Points)

This option should be selected if a court/judge has ordered you to take a driver improvement course. No safe driving points will be assigned UNLESS on the rare occasion that the courts have notified you that you will be able to earn safe driving points. If the court has told you that you are allowed to earn safe driving points, you will need to email court documentation that verifies this to info@ezdriveva.com. If you do not provide proof of the courts allowing you to earn safe driving points by the time you complete the program, your completion will be submitted to the DMV with no safe driving points.

Volunteer (Safe Driving Points Awarded If Eligible)

This option should be selected if you are taking the course voluntarily to improve your driving record. The Virginia DMV allows a driver to voluntarily complete a driver improvement course in order to have five (5) safe driving points (positive points) added to his or her driver license. These points are in addition to the safe driver points a driver receives each year for driving without committing any traffic violations.

Volunteer (Safe Driving Points Awarded If Eligible)

You should select Volunteer if you are taking the course to save money on insurance rates. Your insurance company may have offered to reduce your rates in exchange for taking a driver improvement course. Virginia law (38.2-2217, Virginia Code) states that any driver over the age of 55 who voluntarily completes a driver improvement clinic will receive a mandatory auto insurance discount from his or her insurance provider. Virginia drivers 55 and under who complete the course might also be eligible for an auto insurance discount up to 15% for taking this course. If you are interested in taking the course to reduce the cost of your insurance, make sure to check with your insurance company to make sure they will give you a discount for completing the course.

Ready to get started?

Click below to enroll in the program and get on the road!

ONLY $60

The course is the same for all of the above reasons.

No matter your reason for taking the online Virginia driver improvement course, the course is the same. The only difference is what you will do with the paperwork, who you will provide your certificate to, and some of the steps along the way. So, if you need to take a driver improvement / defensive driving class in the state of Virginia, you are definitely in the right place!