Virginia Teen Driver’s Education – Home School

$75.00

Approved for Home School Students ONLY

Enjoy the convenience of learning from home!

  • Approved by the Virginia DOE
  • Learn from anywhere and any device with internet
  • Guide for obtaining your learner permit and license
  • Animations, videos, and audio read-along features
  • Includes the 90-minute parent/teen program required for all Virginia students & parents

You will need to upload a picture or copy of a letter from the school division superintendent acknowledging the student is home schooled. OR a copy of your letter/notification to the school division superintendent of your intent to homeschool.

Description

If you are under the age of 18, there are certain requirements you must fulfill in order to obtain a driver’s license in Virginia. Firstly, you must provide proof of successfully completing a state-approved driver education program (EZ Drive VA). Additionally, you must hold a learner’s permit for at least nine months before you can be issued a driver’s license. Upon completion of the your online course, we will provide you with a certificate of completion.

For individuals between the ages of 15 years and six months to 18 years, the following steps must be followed to obtain a driver’s license:

Step 1:
Obtain a Learner’s Permit To apply for a learner’s permit, you need to complete the Virginia DMV Driver’s License Application form (form DL 1P) and pay the necessary fees for both the permit and license. The application requires written consent from one parent or guardian, which can be done in advance or at the DMV. You will also need to pass a vision screening and a two-part knowledge exam, which tests your understanding of traffic signs, motor vehicle laws, and safe driving techniques.

We recommend applying for your permit after you complete Module 1 of the online course as it will prepare you for you exams.

The exam is available in English or Spanish and is conducted on a computer. Questions for the exam are based on information from the Virginia Driver Manual. If you fail the knowledge test, you may retake it after 15 days. Additionally, you must provide proof of your social security number if you have one, as well as an original identification document containing your complete name and date of birth, such as a birth certificate. Proof of residency is also required, and if you’re under 18, your parent or legal guardian can certify your Virginia residency by appearing in person with you at the DMV and providing their identification and proof of Virginia residency.

During this process, the DMV will capture a digitized photo, collect organ donor information, and request payment for the learner’s permit and driver’s license (approximately $15 – subject to change).

MILITARY FAMILIES If you are part of a military family and possess a valid out-of-state license, obtaining a Virginia license is not mandatory. However, in addition to the required documents mentioned above, you must include a cover letter explaining your military family status and provide information about your current state license when submitting the packet to the main DMV office in Richmond. It is important not to take these forms or the letter to a local DMV office, as they do not have the authority to make exceptions. Processing time for the application is typically one to three weeks.

Step 2:
Enroll in  and complete your online course. and then your behind-the-wheel driving. The student must be currently enrolled in a homeschool program recognized by the division superintendent and provide proof of such to EZ Drive VA by uploading the letter/notification document.

All students under 18, along with a parent or guardian, must also complete an additional 90-minute driver education component as part of the in-classroom portion of the driver education curriculum. This 90 minute program is included in the online course.

Step 3:
Complete behind the wheel training and driving hours.

More information about the in-car and behind-the-wheel portion of driver education for homeschooling students can be found in the Home-schooled In-Car Driver Education Information Sheet (HS-3). This document provides details on the following:

  1. Parent/Guardian qualifications
  2. Instructions to follow
  3. Student requirements
  4. Issuance of the driver’s license

If you wish to apply for authorization to teach the behind-the-wheel portion of driver education, the parent must complete the following steps:

  1. Fill out a Home-schooled In-Car Driver Education Parental Authorization Application (HS-1).
  2. Enclose the original proof of completion of the classroom portion of the Driver Education program. (Your nEZ Drive VA Completion Certificate)
  3. Attach a copy of the “Notice of Intent to Provide Home Instruction” form that was submitted to the local division superintendent or a letter from the local division superintendent acknowledging that the child is homeschooled.
  4. Mail the above information to the following address:Department of Motor Vehicles Commercial Licensing Work Center
    P. O. Box 27412 Richmond, VA 23269-0001

Please note that a separate HS-1 form, letter, and proof of completion must be submitted for each student.

It’s important to mention that the only course approved for behind-the-wheel instruction by parents is Module 11 – Behind-the-Wheel and In-Car Observation which can be found here.

Step 4:
Get your Driver’s License! To obtain a permanent driver’s license in Virginia, residents under the age of 18 must complete a state-approved driver education program and hold a Virginia learner’s permit for a minimum of nine months. The minimum age requirement to apply for a license is 16 years and three months.

The student must then complete the Virginia Driver’s License Application form DL 1P, which includes obtaining written consent from one parent or guardian.

Afterward, the student should take their EZ Drive VA driver education certificate to any DMV customer service center and undergo the road skills test. You will need to provide and drive your own vehicle during the test. The road skills test can be taken up to three times within a three-month period.

Once the road skills test is successfully completed, the DMV will mail the permanent driver’s license to the judge of the local Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court in the student’s jurisdiction. The court will then notify the student and a parent about the scheduled court date to appear before the judge. During this court appearance, the student will surrender their learner’s permit and receive the provisional license. It is important that the student is accompanied by a parent or guardian during the licensing ceremony. Since Covid -19 some districts have been handling this differently and have been mailing the driver’s license to the students home address. You will need to check with your local court to see how your license will be delivered.

For DMV-related information, you can call 866-368-5436 or visit the DMV website.

DISCLAIMER:
Approval of correspondence courses by the Superintendent of Public Instruction is not an endorsement of the educational or operational philosophy of the school. The approval of the courses is also not intended as an endorsement of the quality of the courses nor is it a conclusion that they are appropriate to meet the educational needs of the student. The Superintendent of Public Instruction assumes no liability for damages or financial loss to parents using any of the courses listed above.